top of page
  • Writer's pictureChellz_theurbangypsy

From Ickk to Woah look at that pic-

The fundamentals to taking the perfect picture for instagram<3


In all seriousness, when it comes to taking pictures for instagram and editing them it really comes down to what style your trying to aim for. I just recently found a style I really like for my photos that I feel add a whole new uniqueness to them honestly, and trust me I am no pro and I am still learning. SO lets dive in shall we-


Camera or Phone-

Honestly I use both. I have a Canon rebel T6 an if I want of course a better quality photo I will sometimes use my camera. Cameras are also very good for taking still photos of moving objects and they are able to consecutively take images of different poses without generally losing their focus or making you look like one of those blurry cat memes from twitter-



Honestly twitter cat memes are the best- but the thing with cameras is that sometimes having to manually set an exposure can be time consuming, so if you set your brightness to a certain amount on your camera and then a random cloud decides to come over and sit in front of the sun your whole shoot is ruined, you might as well pack up and go home and just rethink your whole career. JKJK but thats where phones come in, honestly some of these phones out here taking amazing quality images and they just come in handy for quick in the moment shots. It really just depends on what you want to use for your photography either works well.


NOW FOR THE FACETUNE- lol

I will cover posing for pictures in another blog but for now let's talk about making your instagram more aesthetically pleasing. Now honestly, when it comes to editing your photos look for accounts that inspire you whether it be the color, filter whatever- look for accounts that inspire you. Now, let's talk a bit about apps, I think that everyone should own these three apps lightroom, facetune, and photoshop. Now lightroom and photoshop have a bit of a free version on mobile and I think they are also cheaper if you get the whole adobe mobile suite. I also recommend VSCO for more grungy aesthetics. Now some of the extra apps I use are afterlight which adds a dusty effect to your pictures and pics art which I have fun with, sometimes I add decor to some of my images.


Lightroom Presets -

Now Lightroom comes with some default presets. They work well but eventually you do want to invest in some presets, I have a selection of presets that I use that will be up for sale soon!!!


Now here comes the fun stuff whos ready for a mini-turial (we are!) -



Alright so to edit I will be using a picture I took of my sister if you haven't make sure to check out her instagram @jerri.quiroz . Ok so what I first do is take the image into facetune, hey sometimes we have a bad skin day and could use a little help am I right? But in this case I will be talking about another factor, pexels you ever wonder why your picture doesn't take up the whole square instagram provides you with thats because its set to the wrong size… you pictures should be 1080x1080 pixels for instagram but on facetune I like to crop the image down to a square so that it fits correctly on instagram. As shown below: (link to facetune https://apps.apple.com/us/app/facetune/id606310581 )



After facetune I upload my image into lightroom on my mobile-make sure to save ur image from facetune first haha. So once in lightroom import your image and then click the first picture tab to start editing. Once you have it in lightroom go to the presets tab and mess around with the presets until you find one you like, then all you do is save. (link to app https://apps.apple.com/us/app/adobe-lightroom-photo-editor/id878783582 )



After this step you if your happy with your image you can upload to insta! Or you can be extra:) I import my picture into picsart and add some pattern or objects to my photos just cause this is myspace lol. Once you add your pattern or design you export and save your image. (Link to app https://picsart.com/apps/ )




Ok last step, I take my images into afterlight to add this dust effect to my images. And after that we are done! And ready for insta! (link to app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.fueled.afterlight&hl=en_US )


Make sure to check out next weeks blog and keep up with what Im doing on instagram let be BFF's!

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page